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Library Card and Borrowing Policy 
 
Your Washington County Cooperative Library Services (WCCLS) library card is your key to a world of 
information and entertainment, including over one million items ranging from books, magazines, music, 
videos, DVDs, non-English language materials, passes to local cultural destinations, and more! In 
addition to all of that, you may also access the library catalog and a variety of indexes and full-text 
magazines, newspapers, and reference sources online from your home, office or school computer. 
 
REGISTRATION 
WCCLS cards are available free of charge to all residents of Washington, Multnomah, Clackamas or 
Hood River counties in Oregon; or Clark, Klickitat and Skamania counties in Washington. Those living 
outside the service area may obtain a WCCLS library card for an annual user fee of $95.00. 
 
To receive a card, the applicant must provide a completed WCCLS Library Card Application (available in 
the library or online at http://www.wccls.org/library_services/library_card.html)  
 
AND one of the following sets of information: 
 
• one piece of picture identification, such as a valid Oregon driver's license or Oregon Identification 

card which verifies the current street address of residence  
 

OR... 
 
• Proof of address (delivered mail, preprinted personal checks or car registration)  
AND 
• Proof of identity (passport, student body card with picture, employee badge with picture, out-of-state 

driver's license with picture, birth certificate or social security card)  
 

Applicants under the age of 18 also need to have their applications signed by a parent or guardian. 
Parent or guardian identification may be used for minors who do not have identification. 
 
PATRON RESPONSIBILITIES 
• Please have your library card or library card number available whenever accessing your or a family 

members account.  
• Return borrowed items by the due date and pay for any fines on late, damaged or lost items.  
• Notify the library immediately if your library card is lost or stolen, since you are responsible for all 

items checked out on your card until we are notified and can block your card against unauthorized 
use.  

• Inform the library of any change of address or telephone number.  
 
ACCOUNT ACCESS 
With your library card number and password, you can access your patron account 24 hours a day by 
telephone at 503-846-3245 or online at the WCCLS web site at www.wccls.org. You can review a list of 
items checked out on your card, check due dates, and renew eligible items. You can also search the 
library catalog and place holds on items. You are always welcome to call 503-357-4093 or stop by the 
library for personal service. 
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BORROWING POLICIES 
 
What can I borrow from Washington County Cooperative Library Services (WCCLS) libraries? 
Your Washington County Cooperative Library Services library card is your key to over one million items 
ranging from books and magazines to videos and passes to cultural destinations. Material not owned by 
a WCCLS library may be requested through Interlibrary Loan from libraries throughout the country. 
 
How much can I borrow from WCCLS libraries? 
Generally, cardholders may borrow up to 100 items at a time. However, certain types of materials have 
special limits. For example, cardholders may only borrow up to 25 DVDs and 25 CDs at any given time. 
 
What is the loan period? 
Most books, audio, and video items are loaned for 21 days, most DVDs for 7 days, and Cultural Passes 
for 24 hours. Other special materials may have different loan periods.  
 
Refer to your check out receipt provided when you check out materials for a list detailing each item and 
when it is due. Cardholders in good standing may renew most items for two additional loan periods if 
other library users are not waiting to use the materials.  
 
Certain conditions prevent item renewals, so don’t wait until the last minute to renew.  
 
What happens if I don’t return items on time?  
Most items have a fine of 15 cents per day for each day that the item is overdue up to a maximum fine of 
$5.00. 
 
DVDs and most 7-day loan materials have a fine of $1.00 per day for each day that the item is overdue 
up to a maximum fine of $5.00. 
 
Special items may have different fines applied. Cultural Passes, for example, have a fine of $10.00 per 
day for each day that the pass is overdue up to a maximum of $30.00. Ask your library if you have a 
question about a special item. 
 
Cardholders will be charged replacement costs and a processing fee for lost items, and may also be 
charged for damages to items borrowed from the library. 
 
Borrowing privileges are suspended on accounts with $10.00 or more outstanding in fines and fees. 
 
WCCLS notifies cardholders by phone, mail, or email when items are overdue. Bills are sent when items 
are overdue for 25 days. Be sure to pay fines and return materials promptly to avoid referral to a 
collection agency.  
 
Where can I return materials? 
Return materials to any Washington County Cooperative Library Services member library. The WCCLS 
Courier delivery system will return them to the owning locations.  
 
Notable exceptions to this are Interlibrary Loans from outside WCCLS and the Cultural Passes to 
Adventure which must be returned to the lending library. 
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Póliza del préstamo de material y uso de la 
tarjeta de la biblioteca 
 

¡Su tarjeta de las bibliotecas públicas del Condado de Washington (WCCLS) es su llave al mundo de 
información y entretenimiento, con más de un millón de materiales desde libros, revistas, música, videos, 
DVDs, materiales en Español, pases a destinos culturales, y más! Usted también tiene acceso al catálogo de 
la biblioteca, una variedad de índices y texto completo de revistas, periódicos, y recursos de referencia vía 
internet desde la computadora de su casa, oficina, o escuela. 
 
REGISTRACIÓN 
Tarjetas de la biblioteca serán emitidas sin costo a todos los residentes del condado de Washington, 
Multnomah, Clackamas o Hood River en Oregon; o los condados de Clark, Klickitat y Skamania en 
Washington. Para los residentes que viven fuera del área de servicio, pueden obtener una tarjeta de WCCLS 
por $95.00 al año. 
 
Para recibir una tarjeta, el solicitante debe llenar y entregar la Solicitud de Tarjeta de la Biblioteca (disponible 
en la biblioteca o vía internet en http://www.wccls.org/library_services/library_card.html)  
 
Y un grupo de la siguiente información: 
 
• Un tipo de identificación con foto, como la licencia de conducir de Oregon o la tarjeta de identificación de 

Oregon que verifica el domicilio actual de residencia.  
 

O... 
 
• Comprobante de domicilio (correo entregado, cheques personales, o registración del auto)  
Y 
• Comprobante de identidad (pasaporte, identificación escolar con foto, identificación de empleo con foto, 

licencia de otro estado con foto, acta de nacimiento o la tarjeta del seguro social)  
 

Solicitantes menores de 18 años necesitan tener la solicitud firmada por su padre o guardián. La 
identificación del padre o guardián puede ser usada para los menores que no tengan identificación.  
 
RESPONSABILIDADES DEL USUARIO 
• Por favor tenga su tarjeta o el número de la tarjeta de la biblioteca disponible al accesar su cuenta o la de 

sus familiares.  
• Regrese los materiales prestados en el día de entrega y pagar cualquier multa en materiales entregados 

tarde, dañados, o perdidos.  
• Notifique la biblioteca inmediatamente si su tarjeta es robada o está perdida, ya que usted es 

responsable de todo material en su cuenta hasta que nos notifique para que podamos bloquear su tarjeta 
ante el uso no autorizado.  

• Informe a la biblioteca de cualquier cambio de domicilio o de número de teléfono.  
 
ACCESO A SU CUENTA 
Con su número de la tarjeta y su contraseña, usted puede revisar su cuenta 24 horas al día por teléfono al 
503-846-3245 o vía internet en la página de WCCLS www.wccls.org. Usted puede ver los materiales que 
tiene fuera, fecha de entrega, y renovar los materiales elegibles. También puede navegar el catálogo de la 
biblioteca y reservar material. Nos puede llamar al 503-357-4093 o venga a la biblioteca para servicio en 
persona. 
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POLIZA DE PRESTAMO 
 
¿Qué puedo tomar prestado de los Servicios Cooperativos de las Bibliotecas del Condado de 
Washington (WCCLS)? 
Su tarjeta de WCCLS es su llave a más de un millón de materiales desde libros y revistas hasta videos y 
pases a destinos culturales. Material que una biblioteca WCCLS no tenga, puede ser pedido de otro 
condado por medio de préstamo inter-bibliotecario de las bibliotecas en el país. 
 
¿Cuánto puedo tomar prestado de las bibliotecas WCCLS? 
Generalmente, titulares de la tarjeta pueden tomar prestados hasta 100 materiales a la vez. Sin 
embargo, ciertos tipos de materiales tienen límites especiales. Por ejemplo, titulares de la tarjeta pueden 
tomar prestados hasta 25 DVDs y 25 CDs a la vez. 
 
¿Cuál es el tiempo de préstamo? 
La mayoría de los materiales, libros, audio, y videos son prestados por 21 días, la mayoría de los DVDs 
por 7 días, y los Pases Culturales por 24 horas. Otros materiales especiales pueden tener diferente 
tiempo de préstamo.  
 
Consulte con su recibo de material fuera proveído para una lista detallada de cada material y día de 
entrega. Los titulares de las tarjetas en buen estado pueden renovar la mayoría de los materiales dos 
periodos de préstamo adicionales si ningún otro usuario está esperando ese material.  
 
Ciertas condiciones impiden las renovaciones, no se espere hasta el último minuto para renovar.  
 
¿Qué pasa si no entrego los materiales a tiempo?  
La mayoría de los materiales tienen una multa de 15 centavos cada día por cada material que es 
entregado tarde, con una multa máxima de $5.00. 
 
DVDs y la mayoría de materiales de préstamo por 7 días tienen una multa de $1.00 por día por cada 
material con una multa máxima de $5.00. 
 
Materiales especiales tienen diferentes multas. Por ejemplo, los Pases Culturales tienen una multa de 
$10.00 por día por cada día que el pase es entregado tarde con una multa máxima de $30.00. 
Pregúntele a su biblioteca si tiene más preguntas acerca de materiales especiales. 
 
Los titulares de tarjetas serán cobrados por el costo de reemplazo y una multa de proceso por 
materiales perdidos, y pueden ser cobrados por materiales de la biblioteca que hayan sido dañados.  
 
Los privilegios de préstamo serán suspendidos en cuentas con $10.00 o más en multas y recargos. 
 
WCCLS notifica a los titulares de las tarjetas por teléfono, correo, o correo electrónico cuando se ha 
atrasado con los materiales. Facturas son enviadas cuando se han atrasado 25 días. Asegúrese de 
pagar las multas y entregar material a tiempo para evitar ser mandados a una agencia de colección.  
 
¿Dónde puedo regresar los materiales? 
Regrese material a cualquier biblioteca miembro de WCCLS. El sistema de mensajería de WCCLS 
regresará el material a los lugares correspondientes.  
 
Excepciones notables a esto, son los préstamos inter-bibliotecarios y los Pases Culturales a la Aventura, 
los cuales tienen que ser entregados a la biblioteca que se la prestó. 
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